Node actually defines multiple log functions corresponding to different log levels, indicating the importance of the message. These are (in order of severity, least to most):

  1. console.debug()
  3. console.warn()
  4. console.error()

These are all aliases for console.log() (console.debug() and or console.error() (console.warn() and console.error()). They don’t really do anything different, which might lead you to wonder why they exist…

But remember, JavaScript is a dynamic language, so we can re-define the console object with our own custom implementation that does do something unique with these various versions. But because they exist, they can also be used with the built-in console. This way our code can be compatible with both approaches!